50 Things I Miss About The Midwest

It’s hard to express the feeling of missing living in the Midwest, as its equally hard to express how different life is on the East Coast. I’ve been living in Connecticut for a year now and I’m not sure if I’ll ever move back home (sorry, Dad), but just as well, I’m also not sure if the East Coast feels like home for me yet either.

There is something so comforting about being home, in my little town in southeastern Wisconsin. Sleeping in my own room, eating a homecooked meal with my parents, joking around with my sister when we’re both home for the holidays – some things cannot be explained through words, and since all of my creativity has unfortunately, somehow disappeared, the things I miss about home will be told through a listicle.

  • Spotted Cow, Totally Naked, Two Women – basically all of New Glarus’ beers that they don’t sell beyond WI
  • Being close to my friends and family
  • My cat Simba
  • …and our grouchy cat, Tinker, too
  • Sunday drivers (everyone is always in a rush on the East Coast)
  • Culvers
  • World Market
  • Adventuring in Milwaukee, Madison, Lake Geneva and Chicago
  • Not seeing Range Rovers every 5th car
  • The easygoing, calm, nice Midwest life
  • Fresh cheese curds
  • Sleeping in my own bed in my own room with all my books and journals and old clothes I never wear anymore
  • Looking through dozens of old photo albums of our family and friends
  • A lower cost of living
  • Bayshore Mall and Gurnee Mills
  • Less road rage
  • Going to the Edge of Town on Sundays with my family
  • Football Sundays and cheering on the Packers
  • Sports bars (I’ve been here for a year and I’ve seen like three)
  • Fish Fry Fridays
  • Bell’s Oberon Ale
  • Cozying up next to the fireplace during the holidays
  • Outdoor movie nights at my friend Heather’s house
  • And the convenience of being able to get dinner with my friends spontaneously, go on photoshoots, and hang out after work
  • Living at home with my parents, and all the perks that go with it, including:
  • A nice laundry machine and dryer
  • A dishwasher
  • My mom’s homecooked food
  • Burgers on the grill
  • Driving through my college town, seeing my old apartments and how much everything has changed
  • Looking through Christmas cards my parents receive in the mail
  • County fairs and all the fried food that comes with it
  • Cozumel – the cheapest, best Mexican food known to man
  • Knowing where most towns are located and being geographically inclined – instead of, here, still being confused which state is Vermont and which state is New Hampshire
  • Half Price Books
  • Hearing the grandfather clock chime every hour at my grandparent’s house
  • My dad’s farm, his tractors, and Benny the horse
  • My favorite parts of Milwaukee – the Third Ward, the Calatrava, Brady Street, the US Bank Building, the skyline, the riverwalk
  • And everything I love about Madison – State Street, the Capital, Monona Terrace
  • Pita Pit
  • Living near a US Cellular store (the closest one to me is in New Hampshire!)
  • Cleaning houses with my mom
  • The Pharmacy Station
  • Living close to Lake Michigan
  • A Walmart that isn’t sketchy as hell
  • Being only an 8 hour drive away from my favorite place on Earth, Mackinac Island
  • The self-depricating humor I’ve been told Midwesterners have
  • Ian’s Pizza
  • Broadway Paper Company
  • Driving past cornfields and farms
2 thoughts on “50 Things I Miss About The Midwest

  1. Pingback: 30 Things I’m Grateful For in December | Kelsey Welke

  2. Pingback: 30 Things I’m Grateful For in April | Kelsey Welke

Comments are closed.