30 Things I’m Grateful For in May

May turned out to be somewhat of a rollercoaster in my life. The first half was great, but the second half was a whirlwind of sadness, stress and discontent. I’ve never lost a family member, so when my grandfather passed away at the end of May, it impacted me and my family so deeply. He was the rock of the Welke family, and I cannot put into words how much he will be missed.

In somewhat happier news, I adopted a little black and white kitten from the Stratford Animal Shelter! She’s quite a handful but it’s been great having her around, because now I can talk to her instead of talk to myself like I usually do and not feel like I’m crazy. Here are thirty more things I’m grateful for this month:

  • Going on a House Tour with my coworkers and getting to see some incredible houses in Fairfield County
  • A pretty garden and a super cool art gallery at Colorblends House & Spring Garden
  • Advil PM
  • The gorgeous Sleeping Giant State Park
  • Grilled cheese and bacon at ordinary
  • Seeing all of New Haven on top of the Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Monument
  • Going on a motorcycle ride through Lordship
  • ShopRite sales
  • Revlon’s Vixen nail polish
  • Breakfast sandwiches and Snapple on Saturday mornings
  • A Petco close to my apartment
  • Going on a field trip four days in a row to a gorgeous house the firm I work for designed in Greenwich and sharpening my photography skills
  • Feeling like I’m on top of the world (when I was really just on a widow’s walk overlooking a magnificent property on Long Island Sound)
  • Cruising down the Merritt and jamming out to the Avett Brothers
  • Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt (and wanting to visit Savannah ASAP)
  • Fresh lilies in my apartment
  • The Wonder List with Bill Weir
  • This beautiful, sunny weather!
  • Attending a Connecticut Cottages & Gardens-sponsored event on flower and table arranging and getting to meet DeJuan Stroud
  • An inexpensive and stress-free flight to Milwaukee, helpful people on the airplanes and window seats
  • Culvers
  • Watching two sunsets in the same day
  • Being home surrounded by my family
  • A fun “girls day” lunch with my sister, aunt and grandma
  • A friend who will take care of my new kitten while I was away
  • 50% off bestsellers at the airport
  • Flowers from Dot and smokey
  • A free cat castle and new toys from friends-of-friends (I’ve had my cat for less than two weeks and she’s already so spoiled)
  • Winning a book from Goodreads Giveaways
  • A lovely card from one of my coworkers
One thought on “30 Things I’m Grateful For in May

  1. Pingback: 30 Things I’m Grateful For in May | Kelsey Welke

Comments are closed.