30 Things I’m Grateful For in October

October flew by so quickly! It’s been an amazing month and so much has happened. I’m most grateful for my job at Mark P Finlay Architects and how it all came together so quickly. I applied for a job, flew out to Connecticut to interview, got the job offer, found a (furnished!) apartment, moved in, and started the job in exactly three weeks. I feel like I hit the jackpot.

So, besides this huge move and my job, here are 30 other things I’m grateful for in October:

  • Getting a tour of the Racine County Jail and Sheriff’s Office, thanks to my older sister who works there
  • Celebrating my cousin’s wedding, eating delicious food, and visiting with family
  • Pralines from New Orleans (thanks Mom!)
  • American Horror Story
  • Joe from Martin-Caselli Real Estate
  • Mr Clean magic erasers
  • Marshall’s and Goodwill
  • Sweater and scarf season
  • Windows on all four sides of my apartment
  • Arianna Huffington’s book Thrive
  • My mom, for driving with me 15 hours to Connecticut, deep cleaning my apartment, buying me things only a mother would know I need, helping me unpack, and not getting too frustrated when I got us lost in Pittsburgh
  • My landlord and his daughter and how they brought me two dozen roses, a box of cookies and home-cooked brownies my first few days of living in Connecticut
  • Fresh, pretty house plants
  • TRESemme touchable softness shampoo
  • Piktochart for helping me make a pretty neat infographic
  • Bonding with my 83-year-old landlord over National Geographic, TV dinners and rum and cokes
  • Having lunch at the beach
  • Watching House of DVF – my guilty pleasure
  • How my commute isn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. A lot of people I’ve met have said traffic on the East Coast is awful, but I live 11 miles from where I work and my drive is between 15 and 20 minutes
  • A washer and dryer in my apartment
  • Buying a gorgeous printed skirt at H&M for $7
  • Sunday night football
  • Chase bank
  • Friendly and helpful coworkers
  • A beautiful watercolor canvas map of the world, mailed to me from my friend Rose
  • The commercial that made me tear up
  • And the song that makes me cry every time I hear it, without fail
  • Going on a field trip to one of the houses the architecture firm is working on
  • Dunkin Donuts
  • These inspiring Instagrammers – Travel + Home, DoYouTravel, Snohetta, Design + Magazine, Gold Dust Collective and Nicanor Garcia
