My Happiness Project in Songs

For someone who has struggled with anxiety for the better part of her adult life, reading The Happiness Project was a fresh outlook on something so simple – happiness. “This is the rare book that will make you both smile and think – often on the same page.” Wrote Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

So it got me thinking: what makes me happy? Why do I put up with things that don’t make me happy? What is my purpose? And while I don’t have that figured out yet, I do know one minor thing that bring me happiness – music.

“According to research,” Gretchin Rubin, author of The Happiness Project, states, “listening to music is one of the quickest, simplest ways to boost mood and energy and to induce a particular mood. Music stimulates the parts of the brain that trigger happiness, and it can relax the body.”

For me, sometimes all I need to do is plug in my headphones and listen to one of these songs to calm my nerves and put on a happy face. Taking five minutes to listen to one of these songs instantly calms me down. I’m sure the author of The Happiness Project would be proud.

As for now, have a listen! What songs calm you down or cheer you up? I’d love to know – tweet me!

