10 Things You Can Do To Make Yourself Look Instantly More Polished

My life in the ‘real world’ has brought many things. Well, okay, lets be real, I’m still stuck in the intern world. But, I’ve gotten a new job, new work clothes, new responsibilities, and a few new outlooks on life.

From someone who is desperately trying to get out of the intern world and into the real world, here are some things I’ve noticed that can help you look more professional and polished. Take these tips into consideration and no one will know that you actually don’t have your shit together.

Clear nail polish does wonders. My mom was a big advocate of putting on a coat of clear nail polish. Whenever my family would venture out for an important gathering, my mom would sit down at the kitchen table and swipe on a layer of clear nail polish quickly. I’ve adopted that trait and try to always keep my nails looking clean and shiny. It’s super classy, and no one will ever notice if your nail polish chips!

Guzzle that H20. There are countless benefits to drinking water, and it’s as easy as buying a reusable water bottle. I’ve been drinking about 1.5 to 2.5 liters of water every day for a few weeks now and have actually noticed a difference! My skin is more clear, I snack on less junk food, and am losing weight. Drinking tons of water can make you shine in more ways than one.

Go easy on the makeup. From a girl who had cake face all throughout high school and part of college, let me tell you, looking back on my old photos is not a pretty sight (pun intended). For some strange reason, people actually like to see your face and its natural color. Don’t hide yo natural self! Lay it lightly on the bronzer, blush and eyeliner.

Little-girl-makeup-face

Wear a watch. If there’s one accessory you should invest in, it is a watch. Wearing a watch can pull your whole outfit together, and you’ll always know what time it is without having to pull out your cell phone. I don’t wear a whole lot of jewelry and having a nice watch on my wrist is the perfect, simplest accessory.

Add some bling. Whether it’s a pair of earrings, a ring or a necklace, your look will be instantly more put together if you add some sort of accessory.

Make some ponytail magic. Wrap a strand of hair around your ponytail to hide the ponytail elastic. I’m telling you, I’ve gotten more compliments on my ponytail when I have a strand of hair hiding the elastic. Why? I don’t know. Science.

Tuck in your shirt. It is a-m-a-z-i-n-g what a difference a tucked-in shirt can make. Or if you don’t want to completely adopt this menswear-inspired look just yet, tuck in just the front part of your shirt. Business in the front, party in the back.

button-down-

Wear heels. There’s something to be said about wearing heels. You’ll stand up straighter, walk powerfully and have an air of confidence to you. But I should also note that wearing heels that you cannot walk in cancels out everything and makes you look just plain silly.

If not heels, then pointed flats. Thank you to Chelsea Fagan at The Financial Diet for inspiring this post. She says, “I don’t know why, but for some reason, rounded ballet flats often end up feeling plain and — in many cases — strangely juvenile. Yet pointed ballet flats act almost as a comfortable stand-in for heels.” I couldn’t agree more. BRB, tossing out my old black rounded flats as we speak…

If you’re one of those lucky ducks who gets to dress ultra casual at work, well, first, are they hiring? Second, if you’re going to wear sandals, do not for the love of God wear flip flops. Flip flops should only be allowed on the beach.

Take care of your hair. As someone who is infamous for growing out her banana-colored locks due to laziness, let me tell you. People can spot split ends from a mile away. Okay, I’m exaggerating, but they do notice scraggly hair. Take care of your hair. You do not want to be known as the scruffy girl. Do you remember that contestant from America’s Next Top Model who was called scruffy? She did not win. You will not win by looking scruffy. Remember that.

Kara

